Wake break!

Image

wakeboarding at CWC last year after an epic Catanduanes – Caramoan trip

The 1st draft of my manuscript is done! To celebrate while waiting for comments, I’ll try out the kinda new Republ1c Wakepark in Nuvali, Laguna tomorrow. Perfect time to test run the GoPro on a true extreme activity 🙂

I wanted to get to the wakepark before it opened since it’s a Saturday and I know how crowded these places can get. We got on a bus to Balibago Complex from the Jam Liner Kamias Terminal at 540am and an hour later we were in Sta Rosa. Following the instructions of Dhemiboi, we looked for a trike to take us to Solenad 1 where we could get the shuttle to Solenad 2 for the bus to the wakepark. By 820am we were already waiting for the park to open. After a short registration, I was back on the water!

koi swarm in Solenad 1

koi swarm in Solenad 1

the e-van from Solenad 1 to Solenad 2

the e-van from Solenad 1 to Solenad 2

bus from Solenad 2 to Republ1c Wakepark

bus from Solenad 2 to Republ1c Wakepark

hello wakepark!

hello wakepark!

PANO_20130413_093619

clubhouse lakeside

clubhouse lakeside

training park

training park

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADCIM100GOPROAlmost 1 year from my last wakeboarding experience, I obviously was rusty. Lucky for whoever reads my blog, I was able to record the several painful attempts to get back into what little semblance of form I had (hello faceplants) . My goal, as always, was to complete a single round which I was able to achieve by my 3rd hour. I wasn’t able to record that one, not in the traditional sense. I was recording my board  when I finally completed the lake.

After finishing my 4 hours we headed back to Solenad 2, catching the 2pm bus. A late lunch and another bus ride and we were back in Manila. Great wakeboarding day trip!

Toast Box, a taste of Singapore :-)

Toast Box Solenad 2, a taste of Singapore 🙂

Crowds aside, the place is definitely convenient. Compared to the overnight trips I used to take just to wakeboard, this place is a nice alternative.

Some notes:
  1. I’m not completely sure, but I think the wakepark here is smaller than CWC. some more experienced wakeboarders I talked to also liked their experience in CWC more
  2. I guess my biggest advice would be to get here as early as possible. There were no crowds during my first hour then BOOM! suddenly it takes 20-30 minutes just to get to ride. and if you’re a beginner like me you know it takes all of 5 seconds to put you back in line. avoid weekends if you can buy if that’s your only free time then go early and bring some patience. CWC has the fastest turnover rate
  3. getting here you can get down at the intersection before the Balibago complex. there are tricycles there waiting. maybe they’ll give a better price than those in the market
  4. related to 3. regular is fare is 25 per person and special rate is 100 since you pay for maximum capacity (see link above). you can try to bargain down the price but don’t ever agree to paying more than 100 for a single trike
  5. Bus to Balibago complex is 70 php per person. Bus to wakepark from Solenad 2 is 25 php
  6. the shuttle to Solenad 2 from Solenad 1 is not necessary since they’re so close to each other..  unless you want to ride the electronic van. it’s just 10 pesos anyway
  7. not sure again but I think there are buses that pass by Solenad 1 and 2. I remember passing by the Nuvali sign on the way to tagaytay. this could be a viable option for commuting
  8. there is an 800 peso deposit for gear rentals, don’t forget to claim it after. I almost forgot mine in CWC before
  9. if you want to rent the entire wake park I think it’s possible. I saw somewhere that it was 8000 but somehow I don’t think that’s all you have to pay. still, if ever you want to host a wakeboarding party then it’s a viable option
  10. happy wakeboarding! 😀
Leave a Reply

