Narita-san

Let me interrupt my flood of past trips with my current one. Once again, I’m back in the land of the rising sun. This trip, I’m off to see the winter festivals in Hokkaido.

Since there are no direct flights from Manila to Hokkaido, I had to stop by Narita before taking a connecting flight to Sapporo. I had a 5 hour layover so instead of staying in the airport, I decided to visit the city. The airport actually offers a few guided tours for people with long layovers but today there were no guides available (they’re there on a voluntary basis). So I got on a train to Narita and explored by foot.

Since I arrived close to lunch and I barely ate anything in the morning, the first thing on my mind was food. Narita is apparently known for their unagi and eventually I settled on one of the cheaper restaurants. It did not disappoint!

Unagidon! So tender and delicious!
DSC_4608-01

Freshly grilled eel
DSC_4602.JPG

After lunch I explored the Shinshoji Temple complex at the end of Omotesando.

Omotesando – the street filled with shops leading to Shinshoji
DSC_4601.JPG

Somon Gate
DSC_4645-01

Niomon Gate
DSC_4614-01

Three-storied Pagoda
DSC_4620-01

Daihondo Hall
DSC_4623-01

Great Pagoda of Peace
DSC_4632-01

One of the temples in Narita-san Park
DSC_4635-01

Plum Blossoms
DSC_4642-01

All in all it took me around 3 hours to go from the airport to the city and back. Not a bad way to spend a few hours if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

