Exploring Taipei for a Weekend

When I learned that I could apply for a Taiwan e-visa, I jumped at the first chance I could to visit this country. The only information I had on Taiwan was that the food was great and the electronics were cheap. These proved to be true. I spent each night eating at the night markets and everything I tried was delicious! Upon further research, I found that there were actually a lot of natural parks I could visit from Taipei. However, since I only had the weekend to go around I settled on visiting the hot springs in Beitou, Elephant mountain just on the outskirts of the city, and Shifen Waterfalls, two train rides away (pictures in the next post). In between, I walked around the city, checking out the sights in the city.

National Palace Museum – home to the largest collection of Chinese art outside of China.
DSCF1824

DSCF1827

Beitou Hot Springs Museum – found in the middle of the park, it was the original communal hot spring in Beitou
DSCF1829

DSCF1832

DSCF1836

DSCF1837

Thermal Valley – source of the hot springs. Unlike the hot springs in Japan, people are expected to wear swim wear while bathing in the hot springs of Taipei.
DSCF1841

Community performance at the park
DSCF1848

The beautiful public library of Beitou, also found within the park grounds.
DSCF1850

Longshan Temple
DSCF1863

DSCF1865

DSCF1870

Taipei 101 – formerly the tallest building in the world until surpassed by the Burj Khalifa in 2009. Has one of the fastest elevators in the world.
DSCF1873

DSCF1899

DSCF1904

DSCF1905

S0011926

S0021939

One of the dampeners used to stabilize the tower during typhoons. Incidentally, the week before I arrived, it experienced the largest displacement due to a typhoon.
DSCF1933

Sun Yat Sen Memorial Hall
DSCF1875

The Red House near my hostel in Ximending
DSCF1952

Menacing Ronald McDonald in front of the Ximending subway exit.
DSCF1953

Chiang Kai Shek Memorial Hall
DSCF1955

DSCF1961

DSCF1964

DSCF1966

View from Elephant Mountain
DSCF1973

Leave a Reply

