Nokogiri-yama

After recovering from my illness, my friend brought me across Tokyo Bay to see Mt. Nokogiri. I had my first sighting of Mt. Fuji as we excited the aqua tunnel but my lens wasn’t long enough to take a good photo of it.

You can reach the peak of Nokogiri-yama by driving, walking up or taking the cable car. We did the latter since it was also my friend’s first time here. Be prepared for a hike if you’re visiting here, but don’t worry, it’s manageable.

There are several dozen buddhas along the path but only two were carved directly on the mountain face.
DSC_2743

Above the previous Kannon statue, you can take in the views of Tokyo Bay.
DSC_2751

DSC_2770

Further down the mountain is the largest pre-modern stone-carved daibutsu in japan. You can also rest here and refuel with some refreshments from the vending machines.
DSC_2773

DSC_2780

DSC_2785-Pano

Unfortunately, we arrived near the closing time so we couldn’t visit the temples in the mountain. I thought the fresh mountain air really helped me recover from my sickness though. I felt great the rest of my stay.

Leave a Reply

