Looking for Mt. Fuji in Hakone

The following day, I tried to get a better view of Mt. Fuji. I decided to go to Hakone instead of the Fuji 5 Lakes area because other bloggers said that in the event of bad weather, there was more to see and do in Hakone. As I approached the transfer station of Hakone, I saw Mt. Fuji again in all its glory. I didn’t take pictures because it looked like the weather was going to be perfect in Hakone. Wrong! I never saw Mt. Fuji again. I did enjoy going around Hakone though.

Hakone Open Air Museum – Because I love walking around nature, I loved the concept of an open air museum.
DSC_2795

DSC_2800

DSC_2823

DSC_2824

DSC_2839

DSC_2837

DSC_2831

DSC_2828

DSC_2826

Cable car to Lake Ashi
DSC_2848

Hakone Checkpoint – a recreation of the checkpoint used to keep feudal lords loyal to the Shogun
DSC_2868

Cedar avenue
DSC_2870

DSC_2871

Hakone Shrine
DSC_2876

DSC_2885-Pano

DSC_2896

There are lots of things to see and do in Hakone and one day isn’t enough. I’d like to return again and stay a night or two to enjoy the onsens and see Mt. Fuji in the background of Lake Ashi.

Leave a Reply

